Walking Stick Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello WalkingStickForum Community!

I wanted to introduce myself as I am a complete newbie to this site (this is my first post). I'm Tam, but on here, you can call me CitizenCane[1]. I'm a guy who loves his passions and I can see myself "falling in love" with canes. I think they are an elegant solution to fatigue and imbalance, all while being disguised as a fashion accessory. My other hobbies include being an amateur projectionist (movie night at my house!!) and Blue Man Group.

My 'first' cane (and my current carry-around) is actually an old wooden dowel that's acquired a sort of rustic finish. It doesn't sound like much -- but it will do the trick until I have a proper, beautifully carved, and also ornate cane. Then I will be among the WalkingStickForum Elite - there is an abundance of elegant staves in these subforums.

I joined this community looking to make a few new friends and learn about walking staves and canes. I have a few questions for the wisened old-timers of these forums:

How do the pros carry a walking stick or cane? Dominant side or not? Tips for hand placement[2]? Has anyone else developed shoulder or arm injuries from prolonged cane use? What was the severity of these injuries (I could tolerate some pain for added nobility and power of a cane)[3]? I was also curious if anyone here has expertise on canes designed specifically for competitive speedwalking.

I am greatly excited by this community and eagerly await your replies and friendship.

-- Tam

[1] This is just a little movie reference that slipped in for the film buffs. The joke is that my username is also the name of a movie, but I have altered the spelling to be WalkingStickForum themed.

[2] I know I should just grab it and go, but I sometimes overthink things and get flustered.