Walking Stick Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am getting ready to finish a hickory hiking stick, a hefty one, about 3.5" in diameter. I was wondering if anyone has put a metal sleeve or collar on the bottom of the stick. I'm thinking of doing this to prevent fraying of ware as I hike in rough rocky trails.

Any advice would be great.

Thank you. Mike

·
Registered
28 Posts
Hello Mike, using a ferrule will definitely prolong the life of your stick. What I use is just a piece of copper pipe and a steel nut. I cut out the shape trying to keep it snug, then apply some epoxy and hammer it on. This is a cheap way of doing it, but so far has been effective. I am interested to see what others are using.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
Just took a look, and I think I could do that! I'm just a newbie/beginner, and so far I've been using commercially available ferrules - they are pricey. This is a nice, affordable and practical option.

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
I use copper fittings also, I usually get the tapered ones though. While these are good for outdoors, they like to slip and scratch flooring, so I usually add a rubber tip on the inside of the taper counterset with a screw.

You can buy ferrules that convert for the terrain you are going on.

ttp://www.leevalley.com/en/hardware/page.aspx?p=40009&cat=3,48759,43733
I used the Lee Valley ferrule on an Irish blackthorn shillelagh that I purchased, to replace the large ugly rubber tip, and it looks great! It has an interchangeable, small rubber tip, and a steel point for some outdoor terrain.

I found a larger ferrule, very similar to the Lee Valley item, on the Rockler website and I have several awaiting an appropriate stick. I can't find it now on their website, and the last two that shipped recently were misnamed as "MEDIUM CANE WALKING STICK." The tracking email is shown, in part, below.

Rockler Medium Cane Walking Stick.jpg

Attachments

·