Walking Stick Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, newbie here looking for advice on my first walking stick. I have a really nice piece of basswood that suits me perfectly. A neighbor helped me to cut it to size and I'm figuring out what my next steps should be. I know basswood is a softer wood that usually used for carving, and that it isn't very rot resistant which is why I intend to stain and/or seal it as my final step. Right now I'm letting it dry out and I've noticed a significant decrease in it's weight and it has become more rigid so that's progress, but I have a few questions about the bark.

1) Will basswood bark naturally fall off when it's dry enough? I had found another stick i my neighbor's woodpile that appeared to be the same type of wood but it was pretty much completely dry and what little bark was left just came right off when I puled it with my hands. Not sure if the dryness is what did it or if there was some other factor so I was hoping some one who actually has experience would be able to tell me.

2) I'm making this stick as part of a costume for a renaissance fair I'm going to next month and I don't know if the stick will be dry enough before then. If the bark isn't going to lose its hold as it dries, or doesn't dry fast enough. what would be the easiest way to remove the bark myself?

3) I read on another forum that you should put wax or sealant on the ends of the stick to keep it from cracking during the drying process, should I be worried about that with basswood?

I'm not looking for perfection here, just something that will be usable and safe. Any help or advice you all can offer would be extremely appreciated!

· Registered
1,843 Posts