Walking Stick Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is what I worked on a little over my vacation break.

This one is a simple ash cane -- finished with rub on Poly.

DSC02729.JPG DSC02734.JPG

This one is a work in progress -- this particular stick has been hard to turn (Red Oak) the grain is both hard and soft in spots which has led to a lot of chipping out! Maybe soft is not the right word -- the grain in spots is wider, more open -- I've not had anything quite like it before.

DSC02743.JPG DSC02744.JPG

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
Looks like you're having fun! I like both.

·
Registered
969 Posts
The ash cane is quite nice. Clean, straightforward, and shows the natural beauty of the wood. But the red oak looks destined for pomp and circumstance.

But red oak really is rather spongy, with all the big pores. Perhaps a pre-turning treatment with a wood stabilizer would help. I have no lathe experience, but I've liked the carving texture of the sticks I've soaked.

·
Registered
1,485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The ash cane is quite nice. Clean, straightforward, and shows the natural beauty of the wood. But the red oak looks destined for pomp and circumstance.

But red oak really is rather spongy, with all the big pores. Perhaps a pre-turning treatment with a wood stabilizer would help. I have no lathe experience, but I've liked the carving texture of the sticks I've soaked.
Thanks "gdenby" for the input! Your right, it does rather spongy (I guess) -- it does have areas of wide open pores. I may try the wood stabilizer even yet! I haven't been able to get back to it since I took the pic.

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts