Walking Stick Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, my name is Tony. I'm new to cane making. I just ordered some seasoned cane blanks from Gilmer wood. My question is what is the best way to taper and round the blank? I've seen things about using a router table, a lath, and other power tools. I'd like to keep it simple, and maybe use hand tools. I've seen Spoke shaves, and draw knives, and shaving mules. I don't want to spend $500.00 on a shaving mule. I'm not going to be doing this professionally. I just want to make a few canes. I have a table saw and an angle jig, so I can maybe do the taper on the table saw. I can make a long piece of wood to clamp the blank to and use a spoke shave to round it. Or a draw knife. This is all conjecture, since a never made a cane before. So actually, what I'm asking, is what would be the best way to round and taper a blank with out having to spent a fortune? I can afford a draw knife or spoke shave, but don't want to invest in a shave mule or a lath. Thank you for any help.

·
Registered
480 Posts
Man! You're just kinda jumping in in there! Well.. I don't really know much about shaping blanks. I just dig up saplings and cut branches out of brush piles! The most experience I have is when I shaped a piece of pallet with just carving and a lot of rasp work. As far as a lath is concerned, if you're handy with tools(I am not) you can probably find plans and\or videos on how to make a simple one yourself.

·
Registered
1,925 Posts
Most of us here duck the question and use natural shanks.

A tapered octagonal blank would look good.

Another thought is to make a router jig to round and taper your blanks.

Rodney

·
Registered
907 Posts