Walking Stick Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning, I hope you are all well.
I live in a rural part of Bedfordshire just north of London.
I am a serial hobbyist and love fishing, shooting, foraging and blacksmithing which is why I guess I've ended up here.
I love working with all materials including resin and can't wait to get started on my first stick.
Unless something comes up I feel I can contribute to I will keep quiet while I absorb all the amazing knowledge that exists on this forum.
The local wood resources are Hazel, Beech, Ash, Chestnut and Hawthorn.

I have already learned that I have cut my first few sticks at the wrong time of year (have to see how that goes) so being a little impatient by nature I have bought a few seasoned Hazel sticks that were cut from West Wales in the autumn of 2020.

I will spend a while reading before I take the plunge and get started so thank you for accepting me and hopefully I'll share my triumphs and mistakes as they occur.
Best wishes, Steve

·
Registered
3,085 Posts
Welcome Steve. Glad you are signing on. We have al skill levels here just jump right in. Your Blacksmithing skill can be a blind with stickmaking. I share some of you other interest, I am a fly fisherman and a shooter too. The UK is a great place to learn stick making. I am US member of the British Stickmakers Guild. If you are on Face Book check out "Stickmakers & Suppliers (sas)" a UK group. Great group of stickmakers there also.

·
Super Moderator
948 Posts
Welcome aboard, Steve. Don't think of things as mistakes. They're alternate design opportunities.

I've found that sometimes,the best time to cut a stick is when you find it. You might not find it again or someone else might find it before you can get back to it.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Welcome aboard, Steve. Don't think of things as mistakes. They're alternate design opportunities.