Walking Stick Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,086 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some questions regarding painting your stick carvings. I have limited experience with paints other than craft type acrylics that I use on my Christmas carvings.

The craft type water based acrylics I use do not lend themselves well to allowing the details, (namely feathers or fur) carved or burned into a piece to show through. Even after thinning them out, the amount of coats required to get a vibrant color fills the details of the carving in.

In another post Cobalt brought up using artist rather than craft paint. As I have limited experience with paints I was wondering if someone could explain the difference. Is artist paint water or oil based? Does it need to be thinned to allow detail to show? Are multiple coats the norm?

Also could someone explain what they use as a tinting medium? I have used acrylic antiquing solution to color some pieces rather than use an oil based stain. I am looking for other options. Suggestions please.

Tx,

Mark

·
Registered
969 Posts
Many of the "craft" or "student" pigments have a semi-opaque whitish vehicle. The vehicle is less expensive, and makes covering coats in just one or two layers. "Artist" grade will have a transparent or translucent vehicle, that may have some tone, such as the yellow of an oil, or none such as a gum resin. Depending on the color, artist grade paints can take many coats to produce on opaque covering.

Also, the lower end pigments sometimes are mixes of several colorants, and when blended, may produce unexpected results.

From what I have seen, paints were rarely used right on wood. There was usually a ground made of glue and chalk. When wood was colored, it was done w. stains or dyes that penetrated the grain. I've had decent results w. "TransTint" dyes. They can be blended with each other to produce many hues, and thinned w. alcohol for more subtlety. They are expensive, but a little can go a long way.