Walking Stick Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively lucky when it comes to wood availability where I live. Some of the woods that I enjoy being able to harvest

are... cedar, maple, alder, and birch. There are a few varieties of maple, like paper bark, broad leaf, and vine which are

all quite different looking.

So, have you access to a good wood supply where you are? Which do you prefer, any reason in particular?

Sean

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
Pecan, various oaks, hickory, bois d'arc (osage orange) these are what I look for. But I'm a newbie.

River birch, sycamore, hackberry, redbud, dogwood, these are common in northeast Oklahoma too. We have some maples but I haven't noticed them in the wild so far.

I have spent an hour on only two weekends walking in wooded areas near Tulsa. So far, just pecan and oak brought back for slingshots. Bois d'arc is my number one goal, but I need a landowner's permission to explore north of Tulsa, ideally in Osage County northwest of town.

I haven't found sufficiently long and straight branches. I look for deadwood, mostly ice storm damage, still hanging but not on the ground (i.e. rotten).

·
Premium Member
697 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
CAS, nice variety of wood you have available! Good luck finding some Osage Orange. I'd love to see a

walking stick made from that wood.

·
Vendor
59 Posts
The woods around me contain maple (rock, silver, sugar), various species of oak, white birch, aspen, sassafras, cherry, catalpa, and black walnut. I also have quite a bit of basswood around.

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
Gandalf is carrying an awesome staff in The Hobbit - we saw that in 3D at the IMAX just today. The top has to be fake but it looks great.

·
Registered
419 Posts
We have
black oak, black walnut, blackgum, bur oak, cottonwood, flowering dogwood, hackberry, hickory, locust, persimmon, red maple,