Walking Stick Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a nice piece of hazel that I collected many years ago. Unlike those living in Europe, I spent three years looking for a hazel large enough to use as a walking stick. We may have millions of them growing here, but they rarely get larger than 3/4" in diameter. I want the bark to turn out really nice and keep the pattern that is on it. What is the best way to prepare and protect the bark? All the sticks I've made so far have been bare wood.

·
Registered
1,925 Posts
I use the hazel native to my area and usually I just wash it if it needs it and oil it. Hopefully one or two of our British members will chime in. They use a lot of hazel there.

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
I have no experience with hazel, here in the central U.S.A. A very expensive experiment may deplete your whiskey budget for a while. An expensive chemical product, Pentacryl, is made to replace the water within the cells of the wood, thus reducing shrinkage. I speculate that bark shrinkage may differ from sapwood shrinkage, and contribute to the separation of bark from the sapwood.

If your hazel has been sitting a long time, it's likely already dried, and this experiment would not change anything.

I was fortunate that a neighbor had a diseased beech tree cut down, and I harvested a stick. I liked the yellow-white bark so much that I made a PVC tube for soaking sticks in Pentacryl. I can't say that the Pentacryl is responsible, but I've used my beech stick for years now, and the bark remains attached. Sum beech!

·
Registered
4 Posts
The stick is very dry and the bark firmly attached, so no need for experimentation on this stick. :) I just need the best way to preserve the look of the bark. I did just finish a mountain maple stick with the bark, which I think turned out nicely, but the bark was quite bland to begin with.

·
Registered
1,925 Posts